THE POND IS FROZEN, AND I’M JUST A SHADOW OF MYSELF

THE POND IS FROZEN, AND I'M JUST A SHADOW OF MYSELF

I awoke up this morning as I have done my whole life. My parents did the same, and told me our folks have always awoken within a day or two of this day. They told me that I should come out of my hole no matter what the weather and look for my shadow.

I don’t know where shadows come from, but I have seen them year after year for my whole life.

Last fall before the weather turned unbearable the alarm on my smart phone was set, and here I am looking at a frozen pond and freezing in spite of my considerable fur.

I don’t know how my parents and grandparents and those who came before knew when to wake up. They had no electronic devices ,if you can believe that. They spoke of temperature changes and angle of the Sun and the axis of the earth and other things I was never taught in school. Somehow they figured it out as those before them had done.

I’m pretty sure, if we could just put a lot more money towards education then we could make me aware of how the world works. How did they do it, without sufficient funds or technology?

Grandpa used to say that we are losing our natural instincts for survival.

I don’t know what that means. I do know, that I’m climbing back in my hole, and hog the ground and turning on my electric throw, and wait until it gets warmer.

You gotta love evolution and progress and all that stuff.

Happy Ground Hog’s day!

All I see is a frozen pond and a shadow of myself.

One comment on “THE POND IS FROZEN, AND I’M JUST A SHADOW OF MYSELF

  1. […] The Pond Is Frozen, and I’m Just a Shadow of Myself (indianaeddy.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

