” If you see a fork in the road take it.” Yogi Berra

I actually found this fork in the road.

Here’s how it all began.

A few years ago my wife and I were training for a half Marathon. She is a natural leader, and convinced four of her oldest friends that completing a half Marathon would be a memory, they would never forget. Come to think of it if you forget it can’t be a memory. This whole Yogi Berra thing won’t leave me alone. Neither can thinking like a man. I just called four women I know well… Old.
O.K. let’s try this again.

My wife invited four of her best friends, who are beautiful and fit enough to walk / jog, thirteen point one miles for a very good cause, and to create memories that will last a lifetime.

Whew!

The love of my life and I began walking and jogging months before In preparation.

Do you see how I’m starting to salvage that awkward beginning. Flattery usually works. So does slight of hand and Atomic Bombs and fertilizer.

She and I trained together, and she met with her friends, and everyone worked hard to get ready for the big event that would draw thousands.

On one of our outings we were in a walking mode, when I noticed the fork on the road. It had been run over and over, until it broke at the joint and was flat as a pancake.

I couldn’t believe my good fortune. I thought of Yogi immediately and reached down to pick up the treasure. My wife thought I was crazy. She’s usually right. Let me rephrase that. She’s always right. Anybody out there married?

She asked,” are you really going to keep that?” “Sure”, I answered. “Who do you know who has actually found a fork in the road?” “No one “, she had to admit.

So, I brought the fork home and placed it in my office,where it looks totally out of place, but is a real conversation piece.

When friends come over and notice it they all want to hear the story behind it. Being a blabber mouth I am pleased to tell them, and of course the details have become so embellished, that if you were on that walk that day you wouldn’t recognize the explanation. Isn’t life fun?

Almost all fall for the closer question.

How did you notice it?

“You can see a lot just by observing.”
Yogi Berra

One comment on “” If you see a fork in the road take it.” Yogi Berra

  1. Sounds like something I would do. Always been fascinated with found objects and yours is an interesting find.

    Like

Leave a Reply

