Music for my soul

Music for my soul

I was getting ready to play a few songs, and and decided to write a quick blog first.

I have several guitars and other instruments, but this is my favorite. For those of you who care about such things this is a Gibson Advanced Jumbo. It is an acoustic cannon, and a reproduction of a 1934 version that Gibson made. It was during that period when sounds systems weren’t available and the guitar really had to boom to be heard.

Also, for those of you who care about such things It has a sitka spruce top and rosewood sides and back. It sounds sweet as can be.

dad misc 032

This is the guitar I was holding, when my mind came up with the quote from a prior post.

“It’s where you place the silence between the sounds that makes the music.”

I got this idea from B.B.King As he gets older he plays fewer notes,but knows exactly where to place them to get that sound he has perfected.

I enjoy and play all kinds of music, and the silence rule applies to them all.

I’m glad I got around to writing about my music. I have been playing, singing and performing for over fifty years and have a lot of stories to tell.

This blogging is cutting into my practice time.

Happy blogging to you all, and don’t forget to sing in the shower. It’s the one place we all sound good.

Leave a Reply

