My Dog and History

ursula

It’s a New Year now, and time to come clean about some things.

I have often written about my best friend Little Bear. She has been used in several posts. A couple times without her permission, I must confess.
I have even misrepresented her gender; a venial sin at least in this time of over kill political correctness.
You must admit though, that she is very photogenic. If I had used pictures of myself I’d still be waiting for my first view.

Here’s the thing though. Her name is not Little Bear. It sort of is, but not exactly. Bear with me here. I know that was terrible, but desperate world famous writers, must do desperate things to wade through their own delusions.
Her real name is…… {drum roll here}…. Uschi!
Uschi? Are you serious right now? Is that Japanese, or Chinese or American Indian, or what? Surprise! Surprise! It’s German.
Here’s how it all happened.

Someone in our house got Dog fever real bad. You can probably guess, it wasn’t my wife. She’s somewhat younger than me, and her immune system is stronger, so she was able to fight it off. She loves dogs, but wasn’t ready for a giant new baby in the house. I was oblivious to the ramifications of such a project, and that’s why I spelled Dog with a capital letter. I didn’t want a dog, I wanted a Dog.
In order to entice my wife to go along with a new pup, I offered her naming rights. I held onto veto power though, just in case she came up with something like… like…., well I don’t know exactly, but just in case.
She came up with a brilliant idea. She doesn’t know me much better than I know myself.
When our daughter was an undergraduate student, one of her professors was from Germany and named Uschi. She was an extraordinary woman, and gave my daughter advice that changed her life and as a result ours also.
Uschi is a diminutive of Ursala which means little girl bear. Ursala is diminutive of the Latin Ursa meaning little bear. How can a larger word be a diminutive of a smaller word? I have so much to learn.
The picture of Uschi taken about a week after we first met, shows the cutie factor I had to deal with. One of my friends said, ” shes going to be pretty big when she grows into those ears.

The beautiful Picture is of the martyr Ursala around four hundred A.D. I don’t remember what she died for,but because of her fame her name became popular from that day forward.
That’s how my best friend Uschi became a part of history.

I took this first picture tomorrow, since all the bad weather coming our way will make it unpleasant to go out side. I just wanted you to see what Uschi will look like after the great storm hits.

IMG_0308

Uschi   6 2012 021

One comment on “My Dog and History

  1. Amazing! Its genuinely remarkable piece of writing,I have got
    much clear idea about from this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

