David Hume Quote

edinburgh sept09@laborday 071 ” Eloquence at it’s highest pitch, leaves little room for reason or reflection, but addresses itself entirely to the desires and affections, captivating the willing hearers, and subduing their understanding.”

” Nothing is more surprising than the easiness with which the many are governed by the few.”

Obviously I slipped two quotes in here. They fit together so seamlessly for me, that I could not resist.
I took this photo on The Royal Mile in Edinburgh. It is cast bronze on stone, and the artist is Alexander Sandy Stoddat.
I never heard of him either, but he sure does good work.
The Royal Mile is called that, because it is almost exactly one mile from the Medieval Castle, that sits high above the city, on ancient rock, where traces of human inhabitants can be found from several thousand years ago, to the Royal Palace, that is built on the lower ground below Arthur’s Seat.
I think the Palace is only two to three hundred years old. That’s fairly new for the neighborhood. It’s also where the Queen, and other Royalty stay, while visiting the city.
I stood in front of that statue, and looked to the left, and was mesmerized by the Old Castle above. When I looked to the right I couldn’t quite make out the Palace, but could see an inlet from the North sea, called the Firth of Forth.
Staring back at the statue I was overwhelmed with art, beauty, history, and the city, and just being human.

Leave a Reply

