“Forward, never straight”

“Forward, never straight”

A life lesson from my Father

When I was a small boy, my dad let me stand up in the seat next to him as he drove. I must have been four or five. This was long before seat belts and car seats. I was just learning that the red light  meant stop, and the green light meant go. His name was Ed and I found it great fun to wait for the light to turn green and then say, “straight ahead Ed”. He always responded the same. He would cock his head toward me with what I call a smirky grin and say, “Forward never straight”.

I recalled those times often through the years, but was probably in my thirties before I realized what an important life lesson he was teaching me.

Thanks Dad

I love you and I miss you.

Leave a Reply

